top of page

How to Decorate a Tiny Apartment for the Holidays

If you are anything like me, you understand the heartfelt struggles that come with living in a tiny apartment over the holidays. At home, I was unaware of the luxury of Christmas decorations, wonderful smelling candles, and festive garland hanging around just about everywhere in my home. Now that I'm in college and living in my own place, I don't have all of those things. These items and decorations helped get me into the holiday spirit, something that I feel like I've been lacking this past couple of weeks due to the lack of festive decorations to remind me of the season.

If you relate to this in any way, continue reading.

Christmas is without a doubt my favorite holiday and time of the year. I mean, who in their right mind doesn't love Christmas? To my disappointment, I could tell around Halloween time that the holidays just wouldn't feel the same considering the tiny apartment I live in has absolutely no extra space for decorations. I really wanted to feel at home again and to make myself actually believe it was the holiday season, so I gathered some tricks up my sleeve.

The sense of smell is something that you truly can never forget. I know I personally can never forget the smell of warm, gooey gingerbread cookies or the smell of the pine Christmas tree in my living room. I missed these scents in my own apartment and what better way to bring back those happy memories than with a candle? My personal favorite place to buy candles is Bath and Body Works.

If your apartment struggles to keep the heat in, (or you're just always freezing like me) blankets are your best friend. Blankets come with all kinds of cute and cheeky patterns/designs on them. Pick one up at T.J. Maxx like me and find one that matches the aesthetic of your room with little snowflake, snowmen, or even Santa designs. It takes up no extra space, just replaces another blanket with your new one.

Lastly, and possibly the best idea to get you in the Christmas spirit, is another sense. Hearing and singing Christmas songs with my loved ones around the holidays are my favorite past time memory. Next time your studying, or just hanging out in your room, don't forget to play some classic Christmas tunes off your laptop or phone. Be sure to sing along loud enough for your roommates to hear!

Happy Holidays!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page