top of page

Local Lexington Eats: Windy Corner

Photo by Allie King

In the south, our lives revolve around food. Every family event, every celebration, and every Sunday afternoon is filled with southern home cooking. However, when we don’t feel like taking the time out of our day to go to the store and cook our own food, what do we do? Luckily, Lexington is full of restaurants with great southern comfort food. Outia Michel owns multiple restaurants in and around Lexington with southern style foods that are made from locally sourced ingredients.

On a search to find some of this delicious southern food, I wound up at Windy Corner.

The drive to Windy Corner is a beautiful drive through Kentucky farmland. After this serene drive out of town, you arrive at a quaint restaurant with grassy views. They have seating indoors, outdoors, and on a screened-in porch, all of which are filled with the friendly company of others enjoying a delicious meal.

The menu has a great variety of different flavors and textures. For a southern comfort restaurant, there are surprisingly a lot of seafood options. They have an entire list of different po' boy sandwiches that you can choose from, as well as seafood baskets.

This time, I went for Saturday lunch, but next time I think I would like to try breakfast. The breakfast menu has so many scrumptious options, such as breakfast burritos and foods topped with pimento cheese.

I ordered the pulled pork sandwich with a side of fries. This sandwich was as big as my head, but every bite was worth the inches added to my waist. Just like the sandwich, the fries were delicious. A serving of food here was more than enough to fill me up.

Windy Corner also had a lot of dessert bakery items to choose from. I went with the warm cinnamon roll and took it to go. There were other options as well: scones, muffins, cookies and more.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for some good, genuine home cooking. The food and the atmosphere blend together to create the perfect Kentucky meal. Ouita Michel owns six other restaurants in the area: Wallace Station, Smithtown Seafood, Honeywood, Glenn’s Creek Cafe, Holly Hill Inn and The Midway Bakery. I plan on checking these out at some point, and I don't think I will be disappointed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page