top of page

Plus Size Clothing: Sometimes It Doesn’t Fit and That’s Okay


Photo by Becca McHaffie on Unsplash

For the past few months, I’ve been saving up money for college expenses and bills. Last week, I went crazy on a huge shopping spree because, let’s get real, sometimes we deserve it.

After waiting an entire week filled with anticipation and excitement, I finally received all of my clothes in the mail. Instead of a smile, tears start to roll down my cheeks. When I realized that the clothes didn’t fit, I had to calm myself down.

For plus size women, it’s hard to find clothes that are not only fashionable but also comfortable and fit correctly.

Even with brands developing new lines for plus size women and men, it’s still hard. If you’re a plus size woman like myself, you will give anything to find brands that are able to fit your curves but also give off some type of style.

Below are some amazing plus size friendly stores that are both affordable and fashionable that I use in my everyday closet. But remember, sometimes it doesn’t fit and that’s okay.

1. Forever 21 Sizes: 1X-3X Forever 21 has been the go-to for cheap clothes for years. When they started their plus size clothing section, it changed the game for many. Even though some prices have gone up for Forever 21 plus size, they are guaranteed to give you high-quality clothes that fit.

2. Charlotte Russe Sizes: 1X-4X If you like anything that is simple or very bold, Charlotte Russe is the place for you. Charlotte Russe has been known to be the retailer of cheap clothes for every occasion a young woman has. For plus size women, they cater to all sizes with the latest fashions.

3. Fashion Nova Sizes: 1X-3X Fashion Nova is a known retail brand that has been exploding in the past two years. Even though the brand is online, all sizes are true to size. Fashion Nova has been getting more popular each year due to their celebrity sponsors like Kylie Jenner, Cardi B and more. The types of fashion pieces that Fashion Nova produces are very flashy and bold. If you are looking for a night out, birthday, or going on a date, shop at Fashion Nova.

4. Deb Sizes: 1X-3X Deb has always been a retailer just for plus size women. Many Deb pieces have been in different stores, but, recently, I just found them online. Depending on your area, there might be in-store locations. Deb has similar fashion pieces to Fashion Nova for just a bit cheaper.

5. Lane Bryant Sizes: 12-18 Since I was a teenager, I hated Lane Bryant because I thought it was geared toward older plus size women. In the past year, I definitely realized that I was totally wrong. Even though Lane Bryant’s style is more sophisticated and simple, you can find some great pieces, especially if you are looking for business clothes. Lane Bryant is on the more expensive side of plus size retailers, but they often have great deals on all items.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page