top of page

10 THINGS TO DO PRIOR TO STUDYING ABROAD


I am currently a junior, broadcast journalism major studying abroad in Florence, Italy for the semester. I hope these tips help!

1. RESEARCH YOUR PROGRAM

After freshman orientation at UK, I decided I wanted to study abroad in Italy the fall of my junior year. When it was time for me to start my application process, I never felt overwhelmed because I had done my research prior. When you know information about your program, it makes the application process smoother and less daunting.

2. START SAVING MONEY

This may seem obvious, but seriously START SAVING. If you are a freshman and know you want to study abroad sometime during your collegiate career, start saving now. I personally love food, clothes, Starbucks, and Graeters, but I wish I had cut out some things because little did I know you have to pay for public bathrooms in Italy.

3. PACK EARLY...AND THEN RE-PACK TO DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING

Packing to go to another country is hard, and no matter how much you pack, you will feel as if you left everything at home. Make a list prior to packing, or ask your program for a packing list!

4. CALL YOUR BANK

This is so important. Your bank will decline your card if they suspect that someone has stolen your information in Europe, or wherever you plan on studying. The first couple of days after arriving you are stressed, exhausted and the last thing you want to worry about is whether or not your card is working. Also, you want to make sure the card you plan to use does not have any foreign transaction fees.

5. CALL YOUR CELL PHONE SERVICE

For those students who study abroad for shorter amounts of time, being dependent on only WiFi may work, but for me, that was not possible. My program requires that each student has a working cell phone plan at all times, just in case of emergencies. I did my research before I left, and realized that using Verizon, while abroad, would not be the best decision. Therefore, I decided to get an Italian SIM card when I arrived, which was very inexpensive.

6. MAKE COPIES OF ALL IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS

I know for certain in Italy, you are required to carry a copy of a VALID passport with you at all times. Also, depending on how long you are studying abroad, you may have to apply for a permit to stay. I am here for four months, so it was required that I bring extra copies of my insurance documents, visa, passport, and proof of enrollment. I brought ten copies of each, and also I scanned copies on my phone.

7. KEEP UP WITH THE CURRENCY

Change to the currency of your destination in the states! There will be a better currency rate. My program suggested that we arrive in Florence with 200 euros, and I made the mistake of waiting to exchange my money until I arrived in Florence...It was not my best decision. It is inevitable that you will have to withdraw money while studying abroad, so I suggest using an ATM connected to a bank. These tend to be safer and the currency exchange is always better.

8. MAKE SURE YOUR CREDITS WILL TRANSFER

Studying abroad is amazing because of the knowledge you gain, a new sense of cultural awareness, traveling and the food, but you have to remember you are here to study. UK required that all my classes be for credit so that I was able to use my scholarships to cover tuition abroad.

9. BE PREPARED FOR THE LANGUAGE BARRIER (IF APPLICABLE)

I do not speak a lick of Italian. I understand "ciao" and that's the extent of my knowledge. Thankfully in Florence, most people know how to speak English. But the first two nights after my arrival, neither my roommates or myself had any cell service as we were walking, and we got lost each time. Remember, you are in a foreign country, and we can't expect people to know English.

10. SPEND TIME WITH YOUR FAMILY

It is easy to get stressed out thinking about everything that needs to be done prior to departing but just breathe. Sitting in Italy right now, I am so thankful I just spent time with my parents before I left.

Get ready to have the best time of your life, I have been here for a month already and I am so thankful for this opportunity!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page