top of page

Fashion’s Great Debate: Heels vs. Flats


Does age-old fashion law allow you to be a heels girl and a flats girl? Is it possible you can like both or do you have to be one or the other? Strictly heels or strictly flats, does a liking towards one or the other describe your personality? I can vividly remember being about 13 years old and making a stereotypical Friday night trip to the mall with all my friends. My mom dropped us off after school. We went into Wet Seal and I picked out a skirt to wear to an upcoming school dance, and to my awe, I got to pick out another item for a penny. A PENNY! I made that penny sale worth my while, by picking out the most obnoxious accessory possible... a pair of sky-high, red pleather wedges. Later when my mom went through my goodies from the mall, she pulled out the shoes and freaked out. She banned me from going to Wet Seal ever again and made me give away the precious shoes.

There is power in a pair of heels. Maybe good. Maybe bad. They make a statement. I’ve never been complimented on my three pairs of dinky old flats. But when it comes to my favorite pair of heels, you need to watch out because I know I’m looking good, and I’m feeling even better. Heels do that for women. It takes your look to that next level. They make you feel confident and powerful.

Flats are more practical, more realistic and easier to incorporate into your everyday looks. Granted, I wear flats more often than heels. If you work on your feet all day like me, or your main form of transportation is walking, then I don’t blame you for throwing on those flats every day before you run out the door.

Jumping back to our individual personalities, I’m a heels girl all the way. No doubt about it. But hey maybe you’re a flats girl because practicality is number one on your list and heels are just not in your roundhouse. Then do you. Rock those Converse and feel the same confidence I feel from a good pair of heels.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page