top of page

Volunteering Abroad


Traveling to different countries, eating new foods, and gaining a new sense of independence are just a few of the things one thinks about when studying abroad. If you are looking for ways to immerse yourself in the community and enrich your study abroad experience, even more, volunteering in the community provides this opportunity.

When abroad, it is easy to get caught up in your own agenda. Balancing school along with constant travel, a social life, and all while adjusting to a new culture can be overwhelming.

For me, it has been easy to stay in my own bubble while abroad. My classmates are all American, and whether it is intentional or not, we all tend to congregate together. Despite my attempts, I have failed at truly feeling as if I am taking advantage of all the opportunities Florence has to offer. It feels as if the first half of the semester went by in a blur. Midterms are quickly approaching here, so I promised myself I would step out of my comfort zone the second half of the semester. Therefore, this past week I began volunteering at Aurora, a thrift shop where the profits go to women in need in Florence.

My first day I was terrified because of the potential difficulties associated with the language barrier. Fortunately, the director spoke English well enough for me to understand, and we had no difficulty communicating. My duties include going through the clothing donations, and changing the displays in the showroom, along with serving food on certain days. I will only be spending four hours a week at Aurora, but it adds a whole different dimension to my week now.

For those who are interested in volunteering while abroad, I suggest speaking to your program directors. My director was able to facilitate where I would be volunteering, when, and with whom. Although I do not speak the language very well, I am looking forward to building relationships with the women who come in and out of Aurora.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page