top of page

~Friendsgiving Festivities~

What comes to mind once November rolls around? For me, it’s thinking more about what we are thankful for, food, and getting into the holiday spirit. I love the reminder this time of year to really emphasize what we are thankful for, and celebrating it as well. In this case, my favorite way to celebrate what I'm thankful for is Friendsgiving.

Friends⋅giv⋅ing

noun

An annual celebration near or on Thanksgiving including the blend of friends and thanksgiving, usually including a large meal.

One of the things I am constantly reminded to be thankful for is my friends, and lucky for myself, I wouldn’t trade my girl gang for anything. For the past four years, my small group of girlfriends has thrown elaborate Friendsgiving dinners, and after spending the past few months apart due to college, I expect this one will top the charts.

HOW TO PLAN THE PERFECT FRIENDSGIVING

1. Save the Date

Find a date that works with everyone you wish to celebrate with, or most of the people if it is a larger group. You could even add a little fun to it by sending out personalized invitations.

2. Dinner Plans

My friends and I usually decide to do a potluck, where everyone brings their favorite dish to share. We always include a salad, appetizer, main meal, dessert, and fun drinks. Looking up fun festive food ideas on Pinterest is my go-to for this! If you do decide to stay in for Friendsgiving, decorating the table with anything fall, lights, and even nice plates and silverware can tie the event together. You could also decide to hit the town and make reservations at a cute restaurant.

3. Outfit #GOALS

My favorite part is what to wear. This could go two ways so make sure you define the dress code with your group. Sometimes if my group does a potluck and stays in we decide to go cozy and wear cute PJs, but I usually love to dress up in a trendy fall outfit. If you want to dress up, my suggestions for outfits this year have everything to do with animal print, booties, and a simple skirt.

4. "Picture This..."

You have to capture the perfect Instagram post with all this effort! Making a background is so easy and can be personalized in any way! I’ve seen anything from streamers to simply finding the perfect spot in a restaurant. I love to take a ton of pictures with my girls to look at once we’re all back at college, too.

5. After the Feast

The night doesn't have to end after dinner! Either get cozy on the couch or head to the movie theater to end the night together. You could also bring out the card games like Apples to Apples or Cards Against Humanity or even go drive around your town and look at Christmas Lights if they are up!

I’m way too excited for Friendsgiving this year and can’t wait to catch up with all my best friends after being apart for so long! Happy ~eating good~ season everyone, enjoy your time with family and friends this year!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page