top of page

Walking in Florence


“No phones, twenty minutes, just go walk,” said our Professor.

You can imagine the sheer amount of panic that crossed every student’s face when she said “no phones”. I consider myself directionally challenged even with my phone, and in a foreign country, I make a left turn from my apartment and in my head, I have arrived in Rome and have no idea how to get back to Florence. Nevertheless, the whole class headed outside into the streets of Florence.

Despite our doubt and panic about the task of walking around with no direction for twenty minutes, I believe all of us felt more energized the moment we stepped outside and the fresh air hit our faces. It was a lovely evening, with a slight breeze, not too warm nor too cold.

I looked left then right down Corso Tintori, and decided to take a right. It looked unfamiliar. As I walked, I looked at the stores and people. When I first arrived in Florence, I would jump every time I heard the whiz of an Italian on a Vespa, now I just continue to walk while barely noticing one drove past. But for some reason, as I am walking today, every sound seems louder. The laughter, the waiters trying to convince people to come into their restaurants, the cars, the Vespas. I decide to make a right towards the Arno river. As I approach the water, I am reminded again of how amazing Florence is, in all of its grandeur.

Even as I walk, I am exposed to new scents, new undiscovered areas, new sounds, and I realize that I am enjoying myself. As I cross the street to the river, I recognize a classmate. As we walk, we discuss our time in Florence thus far, and all of our adventures. Parents with children on bikes, people jogging, and lovers walking hand-in-hand, pass us as we walk. We stop and lean again the stone, and look, to my right, at the Ponte Vechhio.

In my opinion, it is something that is better to admire from far. As the sun sets, the colors bounce off of the bridge in an enchanting way. From a distance you cannot tell, that the bridge is bustling with jewelers and goldsmiths, and tourists are clamoring their way to the center that is left open, to see Florence from that magical view. To my left you can see the large group of people at the Piazza de Michelangelo, watching the sunset over this beautiful city. That reminds me of how I need to make the trek up there at sunset sometime soon. My classmate and I look down at the water. Calm. It looks as if the water is not moving at all.

The sunset has cast a beautiful hue on the water, causing it to sparkle at some parts. It is a beautiful evening, but it is started to get cool. We were not prepared with jackets, so we decided to make our way back to the classroom. As we walk, I look up and I see an Italian woman on her balcony enjoying a glass of wine and reading a book.

I take a mental note to be like that woman one day, taking the time to enjoy the simple moments in my day as the beautiful sunset falls over this amazing city I get to call home.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page