top of page

5 Ways to Style the Infamous IKEA Cart

The infamous IKEA cart is one of the best ways to organize in a tiny space. It’s the perfect size for your college apartment or dorm room so you just have to know how to style it. I have found five different ways to use the IKEA cart in your bedroom, bathroom, closet, desk area, or kitchen!

I use my IKEA cart in my bathroom to organize my makeup, hair products, and other wellness needs. I use the top for my makeup and I display it all. I use a small vase for my makeup brushes and one of the Target makeup organizers to hold the rest of my products. The second layer is where I store all of my hair products and facemasks and cleansers. The third can be for anything else that may be clumsy underneath your sink. I use a dish there for all of my hair ties. I love this in my bathroom because I can display my makeup for easy use and avoid any clumsy extra furniture in my bathroom.

My roommates and I split the cost for a second cart in our kitchen for an adorable coffee cart. We love that all of our coffee needs can be in one spot and we can save counter space. On the top, we placed our Keurig with an over-sized jar for our coffee pods. The second we decorated with an adorable light up message-board. Every apartment has to have one! The third can just be used to store extra pods or coffee necessities. Even coffee mugs if you need the cabinet space for other glassware!

Another interesting idea is if you need a bedside table that is a bit cuter than the one your apartment may provide, or one for a lesser price. On the top layer, you can use a desk lamp, your favorite framed picture, some flowers, and maybe an alarm clock! This is perfect for the tiny rooms that need a little table to place a phone or maybe a light for late night reading.

For those who may not have drawers under their desk, I suggest using it as a desk organizer. Each layer could hold different products that would normally be stuffed in your desk drawers. You can definitely make it cuter with calendars, small baskets for pens, pencils, post-its, and other common homework needs, or colorful folders.

Lastly, you could always use it for closet organization. I would suggest using it for your underwear and basic clothing items. Each layer could be used for socks, bras, bralettes, and some tank tops for layering. There’s no need to waste drawer space when you could use this under a short shelf that is built into your closet.

The IKEA cart is my favorite little storage unit that can be styled in your college apartment. If I could, I would buy five carts to use them in these exact ways.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page